Amy Klobuchar vs. Slick Chris Barden 2012

The StarTribune had a short story last night that Slick Chris Barden, Lori Swanson’s opponent in the 2010 Minnesota Attorney General race is considering taking on Senator Amy Klobuchar in the 2012 Minnesota Senate race.  I say go for it.  Admittedly, Chris Barden was really nice to me at an event we both spoke at during the 2010 race, so I am biased towards him compared to other potential candidates.  The problem was the niceness was completely dishonest.  I forgot my speech, was flustered and stammered through the couple minutes I spoke.  Afterwards, he stopped schmoozing for a moment, came up to me and told me I did a good job.  I’m sure it was pity, even my wife didn’t think I did a good job.  But it was nice of him to say that, dishonest, but nice.  The problem I see in him is that he is such a stereotypical politician.  More than one person said he “oozes slime” as you watch and listen to him.  There is no doubt in my mind that he thinks very highly of himself.  Confidence is not an issue.

So I say go for it Slick Chris!  Take on Amy and give it your best shot.  Sure, Senator Klobuchar already has $2.5 million in the bank, and sure you had a tough time raising money to compete against Lori Swanson, but look at it this way, you have the experience now.  You can do the same thing.  You raised a fraction of what Lori Swanson raised, ran a statewide campaign with just over $100,000, and you only lost by 11 points.  Mark Kennedy lost by 20 points to Amy Klobuchar and he spent more than Amy, $9.5 million, not counting the special interest commercials for him that others paid for.  Experience and logic are on your side.

In fairness, according to the story Dan Severson, Mark Ritchie’s opponent in the Minnesota Secretary of State race is also mulling a run, but let’s face it, Chris Barden is a better politician.  Chris Barden ran a statewide race on a budget that wasn’t that much larger than some local state Senate races spend, and it was against one of the biggest political budgets in the state.  And he barely lost by double digits.  Severson raised tens of thousands more dollars than Barden, and Ritchie raised and spent half of what Swanson did.  I think it is clear.  Barden is the maximize here, and the future star.

Not only do I hope Slick Chris runs, I hope the GOP spends a lot of money on the race.  I want it to be competitive.  I think we all do.  If Amy is going to spend $10 million dollars, I hope Slick Chris can too, and I’m not just saying that so the GOP wastes money, honest…

It is the beginning of a new quarter.  Why wait until the urgent requests at the end of the quarter.  Click here and send Amy $5 now to ensure we have another six years of a leader with Minnesota values.

One thought on “Amy Klobuchar vs. Slick Chris Barden 2012”

Comments are closed.