Happy Veteran’s Day!

Today we honor veterans.  Around the world, whether we call it Veteran’s Day, Armistice Day, Poppy Day or Remembrance Day, we celebrate the brave men and women who defend freedom.  Armistice Day was first celebrated in 1919, the one year anniversary of the formal end to World War I.  The Armistice to end World War I was officially signed on the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month of 1918.  Until the moment when the Armistice was officially signed, despite the agreement, intense fighting continued.  There were nearly 11,000 casualties and over 2,500 fatalities on the last day of the war.  The last American battle fatality occurred at 10:59…

My great-grandfather served on the Western Front in World War I.  He came back with serious lung damage from mustard gas and a severe case of shell shock.  My grandfather (Pictured, Robert Reynolds) was a Disabled American Veteran from his service in Italy during World War II. 

From my family, I learned about the pride and the honor of serving, but I also learned about the sacrifice.  Today, we honor all veterans with a holiday in their honor.  There are few in our country who deserve more honor and respect.

Happy Veteran’s Day

