Three months…

The following blog post was originally posted by Steve Quist on stevequist.org…

Three months ago today, I received the DFL endorsement to be the State Senate candidate in District 36.  I was both excited and scared at the same time.  Yesterday, I read this quote on my father-in-law’s Facebook page:

“Regardless of your present situation you should proceed immediately to set a goal to achieve something so big, so exhilarating that it excites you and scares you at the same time.” – Bob Proctor

Well, the exhilaration has diminished and the terror has waned, but I still have that goal. It is to move Minnesota forward in a big way, toward a stronger state that champions freedom, opportunity and prosperity.  That means great jobs and outstanding education with vibrant and healthy communities.

That is the sort of accomplishment we need to be looking for 10 and 20 years down the road, and at the same time be working hard for it today.

I’m really busy trying to make that goal a reality.  I’ve walked in a few parades and showed up at a few events to make my name known.  But what is really making an impact on me is talking to people one-on-one. House Candidate in 36B Sigrid Iversen and I are door knocking together on the 36B side.  In Lakeville my sons or my wife Andrea is joining me. 

I’m talking to neighbors who are worried about schools, jobs, traffic, and taxes, and I can see how important it is to get the right person elected for this job.  It’s not about one issue.  It’s not about stereotypes.  It can’t be about turning words like “green” or “progressive” into sarcastic rhetoric.  And it shouldn’t be insulting to people with a different political viewpoint. 

I keep hearing the phrase “we’ve had enough” coming from the right, but that isn’t a solution.  Going to the legislature isn’t supposed to be going for a battle because you’ve had enough.  It is about working together to make Minnesota better using rational and thoughtful ideas.  In Washington they can’t even agree to a vote because of blinding partisanship.  We are approaching that point in Minnesota, and there is no reason we should let that happen.

I’m investing this time and energy today in the hope that we can all invest in a brighter future tomorrow.  I hope you will join me.  

Originally posted at stevequist.org, http://stevequist.org/blog/ 7/29/2010

