Looking to 2010 Minnesota Governor Race

So with less than a day gone by since the political commercials ended, what do we do now? The toilet bowl cleaner commercials are back on TV, the roadsides are less cluttered by red and blue signs, and the interruptions from quick-speaking, monotone callers have stopped bothering us at dinner time. I guess the only thing we can do now is look to 2010.

With the disappointing loss by El Tinklenberg, the expected loss by Steve Sarvi, and the likely loss by Al Franken, it is time to turn our attention to the governor’s race. Well, it may not be time, but I thought about it, so I am going to write about it.

The Declared Candidates:
Ramsey County Attorney Susan Gaertner – I listened to her and met her at a Wilder Foundation seminar I went to. She seemed very likeable, but she seemed to me to be one of those people that is always going a mile a minute, I get worried about those people getting too stressed out. That said, I like her a lot, and she is near the top of my list right now, without knowing very much about her, or knowing who else might run.

State Senator Tom Bakk – The Virginia DFLer said how he differs from Gov. Pawlenty, “I’m just not going to sit by and manage the decline of the state.” Isn’t that exactly what T-Paw is doing?

The Likely Candidates:

Senator Mark Dayton – If I can’t say anything nice about him, I shouldn’t say anything about him at all. That said, I think he announced he was running this past summer, but he doesn’t have a website.

Mayor Raymond Thomas Rybak, Jr – R.T. was the first mayor in the nation to endorse now president-elect Obama – he knows a good thing when he sees it. I like R.T., but he seems a little aloof, and it is hard for me to imagine DFLers on the iron range supporting him in large numbers at the caucuses. He seems very pragmatic when it comes to budgets and economics, and does a good job of looking at things with an eye for the future, such as pressing T-Paw for mass transit options on the 35W bridge. I really liked the common-sense approach he took when he brought about that change in thinking that future needs cannot be ignored simply because we need to rush to get something done.

The Possible Candidates:
House Speaker Margaret Anderson Kelliher
Senate, Assistant Majority Leader Tarryl Clark
U.S. Rep. Tim Walz

One thought on “Looking to 2010 Minnesota Governor Race”

  1. Bakk is my man. We need a DFLer who can actually win statewide, even with a 3rd party candidate.

    He has been a very impressive legislator and would make a great Governor.

Comments are closed.