Coleman is a little sensitive

I think this is from StarTribune (I don’t remember)…

In a fundraising e-mail sent out this week, Norm Coleman asked for contributions to help counter the support that Franken is receiving from “Hollywood’s liberal elite.”

The e-mail cites an episode of ABC’s “The View” last week, in which comedian Bill Maher said, “I love Al Franken. I hope he wins. “Me too,” said co-host Rosie O’Donnell. “I’m maxing out to him. I’m maxing out my contribution.” The maximum allowable individual contribution is $4,600 — $2,300 per primary and $2,300 per general election cycle.

“As you can see, there has never been a more important time to fight for our conservative ideals and values!” Coleman says. “I need your help to fight back against Hollywood’s liberal elite! Rosie O’Donnell, Bill Maher and Larry David sit atop the Democratic Party’s elite clique of big benefactors.”

The e-mail also mentions another DFLer in the race, multimillionaire lawyer Mike Ciresi, noting that he had contributed about $5 million to his own unsuccessful 2000 Senate campaign.

In an e-mail, Franken campaign spokesman Andy Barr responded: “We raised money from over 10,000 contributors in the first quarter, none of whom were Rosie O’Donnell. Senator Coleman raised money from less than half that many people, and got nearly a third of his money from [political action committees], including RJ Reynolds’s PAC … . Obviously, Senator Coleman’s a little sensitive about that. Frankly, I don’t blame him.”

